Thrust force calculation in axial bellow modelling

Frequently asked questions
Antworten
s muthuraj

Thrust force calculation in axial bellow modelling

Beitrag von s muthuraj »

Dear sir

I am new to Rohr2..I have a question regarding axial bellow modelling.
In rohr2 there are three options(entire force,bellow and no force) in thrust force calculations.
In a header calculation the anchor loads on both sides of axial bellow are very high if i use entire force option but it is very very less if i go for bellow option.
For example i am getting 101kN anchor loads with entire force option but with bellow option it is just 10kN.
The support design will also become critical for 101KN load.
The stresses are also failing in some cases if i go for entire force option but that is not the case with bellow option.
Kindly rely for this query.

Thanks in advance
S.Muthuraj
rohr2support

Re: Thrust force calculation in axial bellow modelling

Beitrag von rohr2support »

Hi Rohr2 User

If you use axial or universal expansion joints these are usually made of bellows without tie-rods.
This means that the axial force due to internal pressure that usually is present in all segments of a piping system cannot be retained by tie-rods and the bellow is not designed to take it.
Therefore you need to design the piping and the supports so that these forces can be taken care of.

Here is an example of a piping system with axial expansion bellows and internal pressure:
Innendruck_Kompensator.png
The internal pressure is acting on the internal cross-section of the pipe but also on the bellow waves:
Innendruck_Balg.PNG
In normal situations you should include the full internal pressure force (from internal cross section and bellow) in the calculation.
In some cases, like in this situation where the bellow is directly on a pump nozzle:
Innendruck_Pumpe.PNG
the forces on the pump nozzle are only determined by the bellow forces.